Practical Courses

Funding for courses that provide training in experimental techniques and promote the transfer of methodologies

The deadlines for applications are 1 March 2024 and 1 August 2024, 12:00 noon CE(S)T


EMBO Practical Courses must take place in an EMBC Member State, an EMBC Associate Member State, in countries and territories covered by a cooperation agreement or in countries eligible for support by EMBO and The Company of Biologists. A complete list of eligible countries and territories can be found below.

Austria (A)Finland (A)Japan (D)Republic of Korea (D)
Belgium (A)France (A)Lithuania (A)Singapore (B)
Brazil (D)Germany (A)Luxembourg (A)Slovak Republic (A)
Canada (D)Greece (A)Malta (A)Slovenia (A)
Chile (C)Hungary (A)Mexico (D)Spain (A)
China (D)Iceland (A)Montenegro (A)Sweden (A)
Croatia (A)India (B)Netherlands (A)Switzerland (A)
Czech Republic (A)Ireland (A)Norway (A)Taiwan (C)
Denmark (A)Israel (A)Poland (A)Türkiye (A)
Estonia (A)Italy (A)Portugal (A)United Kingdom (A)

Organizers of a practical course can be of any nationality and be based in any country in the world.

EMBO Practical Courses must cover a topic from the life sciences, and the application should include a list of (mostly) confirmed instructors.

For detailed information on the eligibility criteria, please consult the application guidelines

(A) EMBC Member States

(B) EMBC Associate Member States

(C) Countries / territories covered by a co-operation agreement\

(D) Countries / territories eligible for co-funding by EMBO and The Company of Biologists