1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

About Young Investigators


About Young Investigators


EMBO Young Investigators are some of Europe's best young group leaders selected for the high quality of their research. There are currently 74 current EMBO Young Investigators who, together with 291 former members of the programme and recipients of an EMBO Installation Grant, form a prestigious and vibrant scientific network of over 450 life scientists.


A dedicated twitter feed for the programme exists; please follow for news from Young Investigators and Installation Grantees. Awards won by programme members are also listed on the awards tab.


Twitter icon

Find a Young Investigator


Current EMBO Young Investigators are featured in the EMBO communities resource at people.embo.org, together with all EMBO Members.


If you are looking for a speaker and plan to apply for an Young Investigator Lecture Grant to support their talk, a list of Young Investigators eligible for lecture grants in 2016, sorted by EMBO subject area is also available.


Additionally, the Young Investigator database lists all 365 current and former EMBO Young Investigators. Please browse the database to find out more about their research. You can also search by keyword to find a Young Investigator working in a particular area.



A separate database of Installation Grantees is linked from the Installation Grant webpages.



PhD students and postdocs working with current EMBO Young Investigator and Installation Grant benefit from EMBO training opportunities, networking events and laboratory exchanges. The laboratories of former members also have access to many of these activities.


A list of vacancies in EMBO Young Investigator and Installation Grantee laboratories is provided below, and updated every 1-2 weeks. Please contact the EMBO Young Investigator directly (using the contact details on the linked page) with any queries about these vacancies. Current members of the programme are highlighted in bold.


PhD Vacancies



Postdoc Vacancies


Other Vacancies





*= Vacancy is part of a wider call, positions are also available with other group leaders, not all of whom are members of the Young Investigator Programme


Speculative applications to laboratories not listed above are also possible. Please our EMBO Young Investigator Database and EMBO Installation Grants Database to find laboratories whose research interests you and send a CV/cover letter to the PI using the contact details listed on their lab website.




EMBO Young Investigators regularly win honours or awards for their research. Please find below a list of some of the awards won recently by current or former members of the programme.


Many Young Investigators (171) have also been awarded an ERC starting, consolidator or advanced grant since ERC grants were first awarded in 2007. Additionally, one hundred current or former programme members have been elected to EMBO Membership.  



Awards won by Young Investigators in 2016

Young Investigator Selected in award
Lori Passmore 2014  Suffrage Science Scheme Award
Johannes Zuber 2014  German Cancer Prize



Awards won by Young Investigators in 2015

Young Investigator Selected in award
Patrick Cramer 2000  Arthur Burkhardt Prize
Helen Walden 2011 Biochemical Society Colworth Medal
Victoria Cowling 2013 British Society for Cell Biology Women in Cell Biology Early Career Medal
Evi Soutoglou 2012 CNRS Bronze Medal
Thomas Lecuit 2003 CNRS Silver Medal
Melina Schuh 2012 EMBL John Kendrew Young Scientist Award
Ido Amit 2013 EMBO Gold Medal
Sarah Teichmann 2003
Thomas Wollert 2014 Eppendorf / Nature Eppendorf Award for Young European Investigators
Rut Carballido Lopez 2011

Irène Joliot-Curie Young Female Scientist Prize


Thomas Lecuit 2003 Liliane Bettencourt Prize for Life Sciences
Steven West 2014 Lister Institute Lister Prize
M. Madan Babu 2010

The Royal Society Francis Crick Award Lecture (2016) 

Frank Uhlmann 2002 elected as a Fellow of The Royal Society
Richard Benton 2011 Swiss National Science Foundation, National Latsis Prize
Óscar Fernández Capetillo 2008 Carmen y Severo Ochoa Research Award in Molecular Biology



Awards won by Young Investigators in 2014

Young Investigator Selected in award
Manuel Thery 2013 American Society for Cell Biology Early Career Life Scientist Award 
M. Madan Babu 2009 Biochemical Society Colworth Medal
Melina Schuh 2012 Biochemical Society Early Career Research Award (Cells)
Juan Martín-Serrano 2008 Biochemical Society The GlaxoSmithKline Award
Sarah Teichmann 2003 Biophysical Society Michael and Kate Bárány Award
Anne Bertolotti 2004 British Society for Cell Biology Hooke Medal
Brian Luke 2013 C.H.S.-Foundation Chica and Heinz Schaller Research Award
Jacob Hanna 2012 Selected by Cell in their list "40 under 40" most innovative young scientists
David Keays 2012
Maya Schuldiner 2011
Aurelio Teleman 2010
Óscar Fernández-Capetillo 2008
Benjamin Prud'homme 2011 CNRS Bronze Medal
Sophie Martin 2009 EMBO Gold medal
Thomas Wollert 2014 German Society for Cell Biology Walther-Flemming Medal
Uri Alon 2000 HFSP Nakasone Award
Kim Jensen 2013 LEO Pharma Research Foundation (LPRF) in association with the European Society for Dermatological Research (ESDR) Gold prize
Thomas Richards 2012 Leverhulme Trust Philip Leverhulme Prize
Melina Schuh 2012 Lister Institute Lister Prize
M. Madan Babu 2009 Lister Institute Lister Prize
Jason Carroll 2010 Louis-Jeantet Foundation Louis-Jeantet Young Investigator Career Award
Felipe Cortés Ledesma 2014 SEBBM Young Investigator Prize
Luca Jovine 2009 Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Hugo Theorells prize
Sophie Martin 2009 Swiss Society for Biochemistry Friedrich Miescher-Award
Robert Klose 2010 The Royal Society Francis Crick Award Lecture
Paloma Más 2007  Carmen and Severo Ochoa Research Prize for Molecular Biology
Dirk Schübeler 2006  ESCI Award for Excellence in Biomedical Investigation
Frédéric Saudou 2002  Lounsbery Prize for Biology and Medicine
M. Madan Babu 2009  Protein Science Young Investigator Award




This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Gerlind WallonGerlind Wallon
Deputy Director
Programme Manager
T. +49 6221 8891 112

Rachel CoulthardRachel Coulthard
T. + 49 6221 8891 110