Installation Grants

Supporting group leaders who move to host countries that are part of the Installation Grant scheme

Application deadline: 15 April


EMBO Installation Grantees receive an annual grant of 50,000 euros for three to five years. From 2021 onwards, 35,000 euros of the annual payments are provided by the funding agency* in each participating country and 15,000 euros are provided by EMBC. Grantees can also apply for additional small grants of up to 10,000 euros per year from EMBO.

Recipients of an Installation Grant are integrated into the EMBO Young Investigator Network. As a result, they benefit from the extensive networking opportunities and practical support this programme offers:


  • The annual EMBO Young Investigator meeting
  • Special interest groups organizing sectoral meetings on a number of topics
  • Joint group meetings with other programme member’s labs
  • Visits to discuss a potential collaboration with other programme members
  • Seminars by Young Investigators at another programme members’ institute
  • Research visits of a lab member to other programme members’ laboratories to exchange expertise.

Support for Installation Grantees:

Support for their research groups:

  • Access to EMBL Core Facilities
  • Annual course for PhD students from programme members’ laboratories
  • Travel grants for meeting attendance for Installation Grantees and their group members

Detailed information about the benefits is listed in the Programme Guide for Young Investigators and Installation Grantees (pdf).

* Ministries and funding agencies supporting the grant:

  • Croatia – Ministry of Science and Education
  • Czech Republic – Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports
  • Greece – General Secretariat for Research and Innovation
  • Estonia – Ministry of Education and Research
  • Hungary – Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Lithuania – The Research Council of Lithuania
  • Luxemburg – Ministry of Higher Education and Research
  • Montenegro – Ministry of Science of Montenegro
  • Poland – Ministry of Education and Science
  • Portugal – Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia
  • Türkiye – The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Türkiye (TÜBİTAK)