1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer



EMBO Council is the governing body of EMBO, responsible for ensuring the development of the organization. It consists of 15 members who serve for a period of three years and who may be reelected for one additional term of office.


EMBO Council Members 2014

Elected terms of office
Name Country
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Geneviève Almouzni FR-Paris
2010-2012, 2013-2015 Pascale Cossart FR-Paris
2014-2016 Victor de Lorenzo ES-Madrid
2012-2014, 2015-2017 Caroline Dean UK-Norwich
2013-2014 Roberto di Lauro IT-Napoli
2012-2014, 2015-2017 Denis Duboule CH-Geneva
2013-2015 Anne Ephrussi DE-Heidelberg
2010-2012, 2013-2015 Leszek Kaczmarek PL-Warsaw
2014-2016 Regine Kahmann DE-Marburg
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Mart Saarma FI-Helsinki
2013-2015 Paul Schulze-Lefert DE-Cologne
2011-2013, 2014-2016 Dimitris Thanos GR-Athens
2010-2011, 2012-2014 Richard Treisman (Vice Chair) UK-London
2010, 2011-2013, 2014 Veronica van Heyningen UK-Edinburgh
2010-2012, 2013-2015 Detlef Weigel (Chair) DE-Tuebingen


Ex officio Council Member

Maria Leptin Director of EMBO



Paul Nurse EMBO Secretary General
Toivo Maimets EMBC President
Patrick Cramer EMBC Secretary General
Iain Mattaj EMBL Director General
Jane Langdale Chair, EMBO Membership Committee
Gisou van der Goot Chair, EMBO Young Investigator Committee
Frank Uhlmann Chair, EMBO Course Committee
Sarah Bray Chair, EMBO Fellowship Committee
Reinhard Jahn Chair, EMBL SAC

Chair of the EMBO Council

Detlef Weigel

Detlef Weigel
EMBO Member since 2003



Gitta BourkeGitta Bourke
Administrator EMBO Council & EMBC
T. + 49 6221 8891 117
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.