1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

EMBO announces newest elected members


Heidelberg, 7 July 2020 - EMBO has bestowed upon 63 leading scientists the lifetime honour of EMBO Membership in recognition of their remarkable achievements in the life sciences, it was announced today.


“The new Members have contributed to the success of research in the life sciences in Europe and around the world,” said EMBO Director Maria Leptin. “As EMBO Members they can help to shape the future through EMBO’s work to support talented researchers, bring ideas together, and promote an international research environment conducive to excellent science.”


EMBO Members actively participate in EMBO initiatives, for example by serving on EMBO Council and committees, by mentoring young scientists, or supporting activities such as the promotion of sound science policy. Members also guide and support the organisation in ensuring the highest quality in the selection of future members, postdoctoral fellows, and courses and workshops.


The 52 new EMBO Members reside in 18 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC), EMBO’s intergovernmental funding body. The 11 new Associate Members are currently based in Australia, Canada, Chile, India, Japan, Singapore, and the United States. The new Members carry out research across a broad range of life science disciplines, including neuroscience, plant biology, cell biology, signal transduction, development, molecular medicine, immunology, and many more.


EMBO’s tradition of recognising outstanding life scientists as Members dates back to 1963, when an initial group of 150 Members were selected by EMBO’s Council. Since then, EMBO Members have been invited to nominate and elect exceptional researchers to join the community, which now exceeds 1,800 Members and Associate Members. Elections for EMBO Members are held annually. The new EMBO Members join a growing list of renowned researchers elected before them, which includes 88 Nobel laureates.


An online directory listing all EMBO Members, their affiliations and areas of expertise is available at people.embo.org.


Selected statistics
  • 63 researchers have been elected to the EMBO Membership – 52 Members and 11 Associate Members
  • Newly elected Members are based in 25 different countries
  • 44% of new Members are women
New EMBO Members 2020


Gregor Anderluh

National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana, SI

Alexander Aulehla

EMBL, Heidelberg, DE

Eva Bártová

Institute of Biophysics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Brno, CZ

Patricia Bassereau

Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Filippo Del Bene

Institut de la Vision, Paris, FR

Caroline Dive

Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, University of Manchester, UK

Fiona Doetsch

Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH

Wolfgang Driever

Universität Freiburg, DE

Paul Flicek

EMBL-EBI, Hinxton, UK

Alain Goossens

VIB - UGent (Flanders Institute for Biotechnology - Ghent University), Ghent, BE

Berthold Göttgens

Wellcome - MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute, University of Cambridge, UK

Eva R. Hoffmann

University of Copenhagen, DK

Thorsten Hoppe

University of Cologne, DE

Ursula Klingmüller

German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, DE

Pierre-François Lenne

Developmental Biology Institute of Marseilles (IBDM), FR and
Turing Center for Living Systems (CENTURI), Marseilles, FR

François Leulier

Institut de Génomique Fonctionnelle de Lyon (IGFL), FR

Kathryn S. Lilley

University of Cambridge, UK

Guillermina López-Bendito

Instituto de Neurociencias, UMH-CSIC, San Juan de Alicante, ES

Jean-Christophe Marine

VIB-KU Leuven Center for Cancer Biology, BE

Sascha Martens

Max Perutz Labs, University of Vienna, AT

Maria Dolores Martin-Bermudo

Centro Andaluz de Biología del Desarrollo, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla, ES

Ana Martin-Villalba

German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, DE

Sophie G. Martin

University of Lausanne, CH

Brian McStay

National University of Ireland, Galway, IE

Raphaël Mercier

Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne, DE

Felix Naef

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, CH

Serena Nik-Zainal

University of Cambridge, UK

Caren Norden

Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Dónal O'Carroll

Centre for Regenerative Medicine, UK and
Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology, Edinburgh, UK

Giles Oldroyd

The Sainsbury Laboratory, UK and
Crop Science Centre, University of Cambridge, UK

Uta Paszkowski

University of Cambridge, UK

José R. Penadés

Imperial College London, UK

Anna Philpott

University of Cambridge, UK

Mariana G. Pinho

Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Oeiras, PT

Karel Říha

CEITEC Masaryk University, Brno, CZ

Pere Roca-Cusachs

University of Barcelona, ES and
Institut de Bioenginyeria de Catalunya (IBEC), Barcelona, ES

María Carla Saleh

Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR

Yardena Samuels

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Anne Simonsen

University of Oslo, NO

Jan Steyaert

VIB-VUB Center for Structural Biology, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, BE

Katja Sträßer

Justus Liebig University, Giessen, DE

Eörs Szathmáry

Centre for Ecological Research, Tihany, HU

Christopher G. Tate

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Luis Teixeira

Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Aurelio A. Teleman

German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg, DE

Matthias H. Tschöp

Helmholtz Zentrum München, German Research Center for Environmental Health, Neuherberg, DE

Beatrice Vallone

University of Rome 'La Sapienza', Rome, IT

Danijela Matic Vignjevic

Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Dolf Weijers

Wageningen University, NL

Sara A. Wickström,

University of Helsinki, FI

Eske Willerslev

University of Cambridge, UK and University of Copenhagen, DK

Marta Zlatic

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK and University of Cambridge, UK




New EMBO Associate Members 2020


Sumantra Chattarji

National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, IN

Job Dekker

Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of Massachusetts, Worcester, US

Anne-Claude Gingras

Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Toronto, CA

Christian Gonzalez-Billault

Universidad de Chile, Santiago de Chile, CL

Noboru Mizushima

University of Tokyo, JP

Akihiko Nakano

RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Saitama, JP

Jodi Nunnari

University of California, Davis, US

Mitinori Saitou

Kyoto University, JP

Geraldine Seydoux

Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, US

Peter M. Visscher

Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland, Brisbane, AU

Hongyan Wang

Duke-NUS Medical School, Singapore, SG



This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839