1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

62 life scientists elected as EMBO Members


Heidelberg, 14 May 2018 – EMBO announces today that 62 outstanding life scientists have been elected to its membership, joining a group of more than 1800 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world.


“EMBO Members are leading scientists working across all of the life sciences. They also strengthen the research community in Europe and beyond through their international collaborations and connections,” says EMBO Director Maria Leptin.


The members are actively involved in the execution of the organization’s initiatives by serving on EMBO Council, Committees and Editorial Boards, by evaluating applications for EMBO funding, by mentoring young scientists and by providing suggestions and feedback on activities.


The 53 newly elected EMBO Members reside in 17 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC), EMBO’s intergovernmental funding body. The nine new EMBO Associate Members are researchers currently working in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Japan and the USA.


“It is a particular pleasure to welcome nine researchers based in seven non-European countries among the 62 new members,” says Maria Leptin. “EMBO has been actively pursuing ways to strengthen collaboration and scientific exchange through its Global Activities. Our international membership brings experience and connections that are an important component of our work.”


The new EMBO Members and Associate Members will be formally welcomed at the Members’ Meeting in Heidelberg between 24 and 26 October 2018.


An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members is available at people.embo.org.


Selected statistics about this year’s intake

  • newly elected members reside in 24 countries
  • 22 new members (35.5%) are women
  • average age of newly elected members: 50.7 years


New EMBO Members 2018

Judith E. Allen

University of Manchester, UK

Maria Ina Arnone

Stazione Zoologica 'Anton Dohrn', Napoli, IT

Salvador Aznar Benitah

ICREA Researcher, Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, ES

Marc Bühler

Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel, CH

Janusz M. Bujnicki

International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw, PL

Sarah J. Butcher

University of Helsinki, FI

Peter J. Campbell

Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Cambridge, UK

Michele De Luca

Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Modena, IT

George Diallinas

National and Kapodistrian University, Athens, GR

Nicole Dubilier

Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, DE

Michaela Frye

University of Cambridge, UK

Sonia Garel

Institute of Biology of the École Normale Superieure, Paris, FR

Petra Hajkova

MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, Imperial College London, UK

Gregory J. Hannon

Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, University of Cambridge, UK

Axel Imhof

Biomedical Center, LMU Munich, DE

Artur Jarmolowski

Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, PL

Luca Jovine

Karolinska Institutet, Huddinge, SE

Frank Jülicher

Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, DE

Jim Kaufman

University of Cambridge, UK

Colin Kleanthous

University of Oxford, UK

Stefan Knapp

Goethe University, Frankfurt, DE

Ana-Maria Lennon-Duménil

Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Matthias P. Lutolf

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, CH

Alexander Meissner

Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, DE

Guillermo Montoya

Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research, University of Copenhagen, DK

Eduardo Moreno

Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown, Lisbon, PT

François Nédélec

EMBL, Heidelberg, DE

Salvatore Oliviero

University of Torino and IIGM, Torino, IT

Ewa K. Paluch

MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, London and University of Cambridge, UK

Lori A. Passmore

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Ana Pombo

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin, DE

Felix Randow

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Stefan Raunser

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, DE

Eugenia Russinova

VIB-UGent, Ghent, BE

Leonid A. Sazanov

Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Klosterneuburg, AT

Alexander F. Schier

Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH

Christa Schleper

University of Vienna, AT

Brenda A. Schulman

Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, DE

Blanche Schwappach

University Medical Center Göttingen, DE

Benjamin D. Simons

University of Cambridge, UK

Lea Sistonen

Åbo Akademi University, Turku, FN

Thierry Soldati

University of Geneva, CH

Rotem Sorek

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Petr Svoboda

Institute of Molecular Genetics of the ASCR, v. v. i., Prague, CZ

Kikuë Tachibana

IMBA, Vienna, AT

Nicolas Tapon

Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

Marja C.P. Timmermans

ZMBP, University of Tübingen, DE

Iva Tolić

Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, HR

Xavier Trepat

Institut de Bioenginyeria de Catalunya, Barcelona, ES

Marie-Hélène Verlhac

CIRB, Collège de France, Paris, FR

Patrik Verstreken

VIB-KU Leuven, Leuven, BE

Manuel Zimmer

IMP, Vienna, AT

Cyril Zipfel

University of Zurich, CH and The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich, UK


New EMBO Associate Members 2018

Alfredo Oscar Cáceres

INIMEC-CONICET, Universidad Nacional Córdoba and Instituto Universitario Ciencias Biomédicas de Córdoba, AR

A. Bernardo Carvalho

Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, BR

Michael B. Elowitz

Howard Hughes Medical Institute and California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, US

Karolin Luger

University of Colorado, Boulder, US

Duanqing Pei

Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Guangzhou, CN

Janet Rossant

Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto, Toronto, CA

LS Shashidhara

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, IN

Mikiko C. Siomi

University of Tokyo, JP

Tadatsugu Taniguchi

University of Tokyo, JP


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839