• Print

EMBO welcomes 65 new members


Heidelberg, 16 June 2017 – EMBO announces today that 65 outstanding life scientists have been elected to its membership, joining a group of more than 1700 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world.


The total number includes 56 EMBO Members residing in 19 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC) and nine EMBO Associate Members currently working in the USA and Japan.


“Election to the EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence, and I am pleased to welcome so many great scientists to our organisation,” says EMBO Director Maria Leptin.


She continues: “We received more nominations than ever before during this election cycle, which pays tribute to the strength and diversity of the European life sciences. Drawing on our new members’ expertise and insight will be invaluable in helping EMBO to deliver and strengthen its programmes and activities in the years to come.”


EMBO Members are actively involved in the execution of the organisation’s initiatives by evaluating applications for EMBO funding and by serving on EMBO Council, Committees and Editorial Boards.


New EMBO Members and Associate Members will be formally welcomed at the EMBO Members’ Meeting in Heidelberg 18-20 October 2017.


An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members is available at people.embo.org.


Selected statistics about this year’s intake

  • 40% women
  • Average age of newly elected members: 50.8 years
  • Newly elected members reside in 21 countries


New EMBO Members 2017

Ido Amit

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Alberto Bardelli

University of Turin, IT

Ralf Bartenschlager

University of Heidelberg & DKFZ Heidelberg, DE

Renata Basto

Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Eva Benkova

Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST), Klosterneuburg, AT

Frédéric Berger

Gregor Mendel Institute of Molecular Plant Biology, Vienna, AT

Frances M. Brodsky

University College London, UK

Damian Brunner

University of Zurich, CH

Lena Claesson-Welsh

Uppsala University, SE

Monica M.G. Di Luca

University of Milan, IT

Paula Duque

Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Michael L. Dustin

University of Oxford, UK

Eran Elinav

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Jeremy Farrar

Wellcome Trust, London, UK

Martin Fussenegger

ETH Zurich, Basel, CH

Fátima Gebauer Hernández

Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Barcelona, ES

Niko Geldner

University of Lausanne, CH

Daniel W. Gerlich

Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (IMBA), Vienna, AT

Isabel Gordo

Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Stephan Grill

Technical University, Dresden, DE

Anja Groth

Biotech Research and Innovation Centre (BRIC), Copenhagen, DK

Jacob Hanna

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Clare Isacke

Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK

Roman Jerala

National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana, SI

Johanna Joyce

University of Lausanne, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Lausanne, CH

Roy Kishony

Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, IL

Thomas Klausberger

Medical University of Vienna, AT

Saulius Klimašauskas

Vilnius University, LT

Claudia Köhler

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, SE

Magda Konarska

Centre of New Technologies, Warsaw University, Warsaw, PL

Marc Lecuit

Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR

Ben Lehner

Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Barcelona, ES

Sten Linnarsson

Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, SE

Núria López-Bigas

Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, ES

Susanne Mandrup

University of Southern Denmark, Odense, DK

Marta Miaczynska

International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw, PL

Irene Miguel-Aliaga

MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, Imperial College London, UK

Stefan Mundlos

Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, DE

Mary O'Connell

CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ

Sarah E. O'Connor

John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK

Csaba Pál

Biological Research Centre, Szeged, HU

Tracy Palmer

University of Dundee, UK

Franck Perez

Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Ramesh S. Pillai

University of Geneva, CH

Panayiota Poirazi

IMBB - FORTH, Heraklion, Crete, GR

Iñaki Ruiz-Trillo

Institut de Biologia Evolutiva (CSIC-Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Barcelona, ES

Sjors H.W. Scheres

MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Maya Schuldiner

Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Miguel Soares

Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Charles Swanton

The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

Elly M. Tanaka

Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), Vienna, AT

Marc Timmers

University Medical Center Utrecht, NL, & Medical Center, University of Freiburg, DE

Aslıhan Tolun

Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, TR

Alexander van Oudenaarden

Hubrecht Institute, Utrecht, NL

Michael Wagner

University of Vienna, AT

Anton Wutz

ETH Zurich, CH


New Associate EMBO Members 2017

Mina J. Bissell

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, US

Piero Carninci

RIKEN Center for Life Science Technologies, Yokohama, JP

Gerard Karsenty

Columbia University, New York, US

Richard E. Lenski

Michigan State University, East Lansing, US

Michael S. Levine

Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics, Princeton University, US

Jennifer Lippincott Schwartz

HHMI Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, US

Gerald Rubin

HHMI Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, US

Arthur Weiss

University of California, San Francisco, US

Jonathan Weissman

HHMI and University of California, San Francisco, US