1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Twenty-seven researchers named as EMBO Young Investigators


HEIDELBERG, 12 November 2014 – EMBO announced today the selection of 27 young researchers as EMBO Young Investigators. The scientists join a network of 342 current and past Young Investigators who represent some of the best young group leaders contributing to research in Europe and beyond.


“The status of EMBO Young Investigator helps researchers under the age of 40 build their first independent teams and achieve a level of recognition that offers immediate benefits,” says Gerlind Wallon, Manager of the Young Investigator Programme. “The networking activities provide an additional layer of support for the young researchers.”


This year the programme received 202 applications. Thirteen per cent of the candidates who applied were selected and the new investigators originate from 11 countries.  


The Young Investigator Programme provides support for researchers who have established their first laboratories in the past four years. The researchers receive a range of benefits, including an award of 15,000 Euros and the opportunity to apply for additional funds to help start their first independent research laboratories. Laboratory management and non-scientific skills training as well as PhD courses offer the young group leaders and their students the chance to develop professional skills. The scientists also receive access to core facilities at EMBL and funding for themselves and their group members to attend conferences.


The next application deadline is 1 April 2015. More information can be found at http://www.embo.org/funding-awards/young-investigators


EMBO Young Investigator Research Interest Institute Location
Gad Asher Mammalian circadian clocks Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovot, IL
Petr Broz Inflammasome complexes Biocentre, University of Basel Basel, CH
Felipe Cortés Ledesma Repair of blocked DNA breaks Andalusian Molecular Biology and Regenerative Medicine Centre Seville, ES
Filippo Del Bene Neural circuit formation and function Institute Curie Paris, FR
Mads Gyrd-Hansen Ubiquitin signalling Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, University of Oxford Oxford, UK
Mario Halic Small RNA mediated heterochromatin formation University of Munich (LMU) Munich, DE
Sebastian Hiller Outer membrane protein biogenesis Biocentre, University of Basel Basel, CH
Michael Hothorn Membrane signalling in plants University of Geneva Geneva, CH
Jan Huisken Imaging developmental processes Max-Planck-Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Dresden, DE
Claudine Kraft Regulation and signalling in autophagy Max F. Perutz Laboratories Vienna, AT
François Leulier Host/microbiota interactions Institute of Functional Genomics in Lyon (IGFL) Lyon, FR
Hai-Kun Liu Central nervous system stem cells German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) Heidelberg, DE
Massimiliano Mazzone Macrophages in ischemia and cancer Vesalius Research Center, VIB & KU Leuven Leuven, BE
Yuki Nakamura Lipid diversity in plant development Academia Sinica Taipei, TW
Lionel Navarro Small RNAs and innate immunity Institute of Biology of the ENS (IBENS) Paris, FR
Caren Norden Retinal morphogenesis Max-Planck-Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Dresden, DE
Diego Pasini Epigenetics in differentiation and cancer European Institute of Oncology (IEO) Milan, IT
Lori Passmore Macromolecular machines for RNA synthesis MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Cambridge, UK
Michael Potente Angiogenesis and metabolism Max-Planck-Institute for Heart and Lung Research Bad Nauheim, DE
Halyna Shcherbata miRNAs in cell differentiation and maintenance Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry Göttingen, DE
Maria Teresa Teixeira Telomere biology Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Biology of Eukaryotes, IBPC Paris, FR
Kristin Tessmar-Raible Circalunar clocks Max F. Perutz Laboratories Vienna, AT
Ines Thiele Modelling of human metabolism Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine, University of Luxembourg Luxembourg, LU
Steven West Nuclear pre-mRNA processing Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh Edinburgh, UK
Thomas Wollert Molecular mechanism of autophagy Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry Martinsried, DE
Philip Zegerman Regulation of genome replication  Wellcome Trust / CRUK Gurdon Institute Cambridge, UK
Johannes Zuber Cancer drug target identification with RNAi Research Institute for Molecular Pathology (IMP) Vienna, AT


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839