• Print

Eight scientists awarded EMBO Installation Grants


HEIDELBERG, 10 December 2014 – EMBO announces the selection of eight scientists as recipients of the 2014 Installation Grants. The grants will help the scientists to relocate and set up laboratories in the Czech Republic, Poland, Portugal and Turkey.



“Our grants directly support young scientists going to participating member states to establish their own research groups. The awards help talented researchers to contribute to the strengthening of science in these countries and to build a successful research programme that can help to promote further collaborations,” said Gerlind Wallon, Installation Grants Programme Manager and EMBO Deputy Director.


Of the grantees three will move to Turkey, two to the Czech Republic, two to Portugal and one to Poland. They will relocate to these countries from institutes and universities in Canada, Germany and the United States.  


EMBO Installation Grants are awarded annually to strengthen science in selected Member States. The scheme is supported by these countries and a committee of EMBO Members selects the awardees.


The scientists receive 50,000 Euros annually for three to five years from their host countries. The eight grantees will also enter the network of EMBO Young Investigators, which helps them to integrate into the European scientific community.


71 group leaders have received support through EMBO Installation Grants since the start of the programme in 2006.


The next application deadline for EMBO Installation Grants is 15 April 2015.



Research interest Going to Coming from
Nuno Barbosa-Morais Cancer transcriptomes and metastasis Institute of Molecular Medicine, Lisbon, PT University of Toronto, CA
Tolga Çukur Investigation of the visual system Bilkent University, Ankara, TR University of California, Berkeley, US
Ana Domingos Neurobiological control of obesity Gulbenkian Institute of Science, Oeiras, PT The Rockefeller University, New York, US
Peter Lukavsky Molecular basis of aberrant splicing CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ Stanford University, US
Günes Özhan Wnt/β-catenin signalling  Izmir Biomedicine and Genome Center, Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, TR Technical University Dresden, DE
Pavel Plevka Structural studies of Picornaviruses CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ Purdue University, US
Piotr Setny Hydration effects in proteins Centre for New Technologies, University of Warsaw, PL Technical University Munich, DE
Gerhard Wingender Invariant natural killer T cells in allergy School of Medicine of Bahçeşehir University, Istanbul, TR La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology, US