• Print

Women in Science Award


The FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award highlights major contributions by female scientists to life sciences research. Winners of the award are inspiring role models for future generations of women in science. The award is a joint initiative of EMBO and the Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS).


Each year the exceptional achievements of one woman working in the life sciences in Europe will be rewarded. The winner will receive 10,000 euro, a bronze statue and the opportunity to give a plenary lecture at the FEBS Congress.


FEBS EMBO Women in Science Awards since 2008


Elly Tanaka AT


Sara Linse SE


Frauke Melchior DE


Ottoline Leyser UK


Fiona Watt UK


Caroline Dean UK


Pascale Cossart FR


Geneviève Almouzni FR


Susan M. Gasser CH


Carol V. Robinson UK


Ingrid Grummt DE


Anne Houdusse FR


Naama Barkai IL



Nominees should be women scientists working in an EMBC Member State or FEBS member country, who have made outstanding contributions to life sciences research and significantly advanced our understanding of a particular discipline in the last five years. The award is generally not meant to be for lifetime achievements. Their research can cover any area of the life sciences including agricultural and biomedical research.


The closing date for nominations for the 2020 award is 15 October 2019. 



Submit you nomination via this link. The nomination consists of:

  • Nomination form
  • Support letter 1
  • Support letter 2
  • Nominee CV (max. three pages)

The nomination form asks the nominator to give details of the nominee's contribution(s) to the field and describe any outstanding achievements. Please include evidence of international recognition, leadership and mentorship qualities, as well as honours and awards. The support letters should come from two additional scientists (i.e. not the nominator). There is no requirement for the nominator or supporters to be EMBO Members.


The committee find it informative to have an overview of the candidate's career, but are most interested in contributions within the last five years.



The award

EMBO | FEBS Women in Science Award


The FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award consists of a bursary of €10,000, and a sculpture designed by Marloes Eerden. More details on the artist (pdf).


Watch a video about the sculpture designer (in Dutch with English subtitles).