1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Twenty-five life scientists join EMBO Young Investigator network


Heidelberg, 20 October 2016 – EMBO announced today the selection of 25 young researchers as EMBO Young Investigators. They join a network of 74 current and 382 past Young Investigators who represent some of the best young group leaders in the life sciences in Europe and beyond.


“The EMBO Young Investigator Programme supports young life scientists in their most demanding career phase, when they establish their own research group,” says Maria Leptin, EMBO Director. “Each of the successful candidates has shown great potential to deliver world-class research, and we look forward to supporting them.”


The new Young Investigators represent 11 different countries, including – for the first time – India. In March this year, India became the second EMBC Associate Member State, which enables life scientists working in India to benefit from the full range of EMBO programmes.


The Young Investigator Programme provides support for researchers under forty years of age who have set up their first laboratories in the past four years. During their three-year tenure, EMBO Young Investigators receive a range of benefits, including an award of 15,000 euros and the opportunity to apply for additional funds to support the establishment of their first independent laboratories.


Laboratory management and non-scientific skills training as well as PhD courses offer the young group leaders and their students the chance to develop professional skills. The scientists also receive access to core facilities at EMBL and funding for themselves and their group members to attend conferences.


This year the programme received 211 applications, and 12 per cent of the candidates who applied were selected.


The next application deadline is 1 April 2017. More information can be found at http://www.embo.org/funding-awards/young-investigators


EMBO Young Investigator Research Interest Institute Location
Igor Adameyko Skeletal development and regeneration Center for Brain Research, Medical University of Vienna Vienna, AT
Bungo Akiyoshi Unconventional trypanosome kinetochores University of Oxford Oxford, UK
Stefan Ameres RNA silencing Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences Vienna, AT
Yosef Buganim Nuclear reprogramming and embryonic cell fate The Hebrew University-Hadassah Medical School Jerusalem, IL
Jeremy Carlton Membrane remodeling during mitosis King's College London London, UK
Ana Cvejic Blood development University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK
Christophe Dessimoz Phylogenetic analysis University of Lausanne and University College London

Lausanne, CH

London, UK

Ana Jesus Garcia Saez Membrane dynamics during cell death Interfaculty Institute of Biochemistry, University of Tuebingen Tuebingen, DE
Jerome Gros Vertebrate limb formation Institut Pasteur Paris, FR
Annika Guse Molecular basis of symbiosis Centre for Organismal Studies, Heidelberg University Heidelberg, DE
Grzegorz Kudla Quantitative RNA Biology MRC Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine, University of Edinburgh Edinburgh, UK
Martin Lenz Cytoskeletal mechanics The French National Center for Scientific Research and University of Paris-Sud Orsay, FR
Michelle Linterman The ageing immune system Babraham Institute Cambridge, UK
Ana Claudia Marques Intergenic long noncoding RNAs The University of Lausanne Lausanne, CH
Miratul Muqit PINK1 kinase signalling University of Dundee, School of Life Sciences Dundee, UK
John O'Neill Cellular rhythms and metabolic regulation MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biologyn Cambridge, UK
Giulia Rancati Adaptive evolution in eukaryotes Agency for Science, Technology and Research Singapore, SG
Jan Rehwinkel Innate immune receptors Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford Oxford, UK
Pere Roca-Cusachs Cellular mechanosensing Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia and University of Barcelona Barcelona, ES
Suzan Rooijakkers Complement and bacteria University Medical Center Utrecht Utrecht, NL
Carmine Settembre Lysosome-autophagy pathway Telethon Institute of Genetics and Medicine Pozzuoli, IT
Minhajuddin Sirajuddin Regulation of microtubules Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Bangalore Bangalore, IN
Kikue Tachibana-Konwalski Oocyte-to-zygote transition Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences Vienna, AT
Igor Ulitsky Long noncoding RNAs Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovot, IL
Claire Wyart The interface between cerebrospinal fluid and central nervous system Brain & Spine Institute Paris, FR


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KiesslingTilmann Kiessling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839