1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

58 life science researchers elected as new EMBO Members


Heidelberg, 23 May 2016 - EMBO today announced that 58 researchers in the life sciences were newly elected to its membership. 50 of the scientists reside in 13 different countries in Europe; eight Associate Members were elected from China, Japan, Lithuania, Singapore and the United States.


New EMBO Members are elected annually in recognition of their contributions to scientific excellence. Their selection is a tribute to their research and achievements.


“I am delighted by the addition of 58 outstanding scientists to our membership. I would like to congratulate them and welcome them to the EMBO community”, EMBO Director Maria Leptin stated. “By serving the principles of excellence and integrity through their views and actions, they make invaluable contributions to science and society.”  


An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members can be found at people.embo.org.


The newly elected members and associate members are:


New EMBO Members 2016

Adam Antebi Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing, Cologne, DE
M. Madan Babu MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
Laure Bally-Cuif Institut de Neuroscience Paris-Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR & Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR
Mohamed Bentires-Alj Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Basel, CH
Michael Brand Center for Regenerative Therapies, TU Dresden, DE
Dana Branzei IFOM, Istituto FIRC, Milan, IT
Frank Buchholz UCC, TU Dresden, DE
Ana I. Caño-Delgado Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics, Barcelona, ES
Jason S. Carroll Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, Cambridge, UK
Andrew P. Carter MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
Agnieszka Chacinska International Institute of Mol. & Cell Biology in Warsaw, Poland
Kristina Djinović-Carugo Max F. Perutz Laboratories, University of Vienna, AT
Óscar Fernández-Capetillo Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas (CNIO), Madrid, ES & Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, SE
Darren Gilmour EMBL, Heidelberg, DE 
Ian A. Graham University of York, UK
Manajit Hayer-Hartl Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, DE
Carl-Philipp Heisenberg Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST), Klosterneuburg, AT
István Katona Institute of Experimental Medicine of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, HU
Jan O. Korbel EMBL, Heidelberg, DE
Pekka Lappalainen University of Helsinki, FI
Helder Maiato Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Cellular (IBMC), Porto, PT & Instituto de Investigação e Inovação em Saúde (i3S), Universidade do Porto, PT
Marcos Malumbres Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas (CNIO), Madrid, ES
Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou Institut Curie, Paris, FR
Maria M. Mota Instituto de Medicina Molecular, Lisbon, PT 
Daniel J. Müller ETH Zurich, CH
Eugene Myers Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, DE
Ove Nilsson Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Umeå, SE
Ruth H. Palmer Gothenburg University, SE
Jane E. Parker Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Köln, DE
Matthieu Piel Institut Pierre Gilles de Gennes, Institut Curie/CNRS, PSL University, Paris, FR
Simona Polo IFOM, The FIRC Institute of Molecular Oncology, Milano, IT
Hans-Reimer Rodewald Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ), Heidelberg, DE
Claire Rougeulle CNRS / Université Paris Diderot, Paris, FR
Raffaella Santoro University of Zurich, CH
Uwe Sauer ETH Zurich, CH
Hans R. Schöler Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine, Münster, DE
Melina Schuh Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, DE
Roberto Solano Centro Nacional de Biotecnología (CNB), Madrid, ES 
François Spitz Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR
Didier Stainier Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim, DE
Kate G. Storey University of Dundee, UK 
Peter ten Dijke University Medical Centre, Leiden, NL
Pavel Tomancak Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, DE
Ian Tomlinson Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Oxford, UK
Jernej Ule The Francis Crick Institute & UCL Institute of Neurology, London, UK
Antonella Viola Università di Padova, IT
Douglas J. Winton University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Gulnara Yusupova Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), Illkirch, FR
Xiaodong Zhang Imperial College London, UK
Juleen R. Zierath Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, SE


New Associate EMBO Members 2016

George Fu Gao Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, CN & Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Beijing, CN
Hiroshi Hamada RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology, Kobe, JP
Marc W. Kirschner Harvard Medical School, Boston, US
Timothy J. Mitchison Harvard Medical School, Boston, US
Huck-Hui Ng Genome Institute of Singapore, SG
Virginijus Siksnys Institute of Biotechnology, Vilnius University, LT
Hong Wu Peking University, Beijing, CN
Xiaowei Zhuang HHMI, Harvard University, Cambridge, US


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839