1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Nine scientists receive EMBO Installation Grants


Heidelberg, 8 December 2015 – EMBO announces the selection of nine scientists as recipients of the 2015 Installation Grants. The grants will help the scientists to relocate and set up laboratories in the Czech Republic, Poland, Portugal and Turkey.



“EMBO Installation Grants assist talented young group leaders in establishing their laboratories in participating member states. The grants help reverse the loss of talented researchers from these countries," said Gerlind Wallon, Installation Grants Programme Manager and EMBO Deputy Director.


Four of the grantees will move to Turkey, two to Poland, two to Portugal, and one to the Czech Republic. They will relocate to these countries from institutes and universities in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Switzerland and the United States.  


EMBO Installation Grants are awarded annually to strengthen science in selected Member States. The scheme is financed largely by these countries and a committee of EMBO Members selects the awardees.


The scientists receive 50,000 Euros annually for three to five years from their host countries. The nine grantees will also enter the network of EMBO Young Investigators, which helps them to integrate into the European scientific community.


80 group leaders have received support through EMBO Installation Grants since the start of the programme in 2006.


The next application deadline for EMBO Installation Grants is 15 April 2016.



Research interest Going to Coming from
Çağlar Çekiç Immune cell regulation Bilkent University, Ankara, TR La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology, US
Sebastian Glatt Translational control in neurodegenerative diseases Jagiellonian University, Krakow, PL EMBL, Heidelberg, DE
Maria Górna Structural studies of RNA-binding proteins University of Warsaw, PL CeMM, Vienna, AT
Aşkın Kocabaş Information processing in the nervous system Koç University, Istanbul, TR Harvard University, Cambrıdge, US
Sónia Melo* Exosomes in intra-tumor heterogeneity University of Porto, PT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, US
Vanessa Morais Synaptic mitochondria Institute of Molecular Medicine, Lisbon, PT VIB / KU Leuven, BE
Yongsoo Park Neurotransmitter release in psychiatric disorders Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, TR MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, DE
Umut Şahin PML nuclear bodies Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, TR Université Diderot (Paris 7), Paris, FR
Ondřej Štěpánek Antigenic signalling and fate decisions in T cells Institute of Molecular Genetics, Prague, CZ University Hospital Basel, CH


*Update: As of 29 February 2016, installation grant has been withdrawn.


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839