1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

EMBO announces new members for 2015


Heidelberg, 20 May 2015 – EMBO today announced that 58 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were elected to its membership. Fifty of the scientists reside in Europe and neighbouring countries; eight Associate Members were elected from China, Japan, New Zealand and the United States.


The latest scientists to join EMBO come from 19 different countries and include 18 female scientists recognized for their contributions to life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.


"EMBO Members influence the future direction of science and help to strengthen research communities by encouraging interactions between countries," EMBO Director Maria Leptin remarked. "We welcome these exceptional scientists to EMBO and look forward to their input."


EMBO Members serve on selection committees for EMBO programmes, mentor young scientists, and provide suggestions and feedback on the activities of EMBO.


New EMBO Members and Associate Members are invited to present their research at the EMBO Members' Meeting from 28-30 October 2015 in Heidelberg.  


The newly elected members and associate members are:



Amparo Acker-Palmer

Goethe University Frankfurt &

Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, DE

Detlev Arendt

European Molecular Biology Laboratory &

Heidelberg Centre for Organismal Studies, DE

Jean-Louis Bessereau Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, FR
Monica Bettencourt-Dias Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, PT
Ralph Bock Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, DE
Magdalena Boguta

Polish Academy of Sciences &

Warsaw University of Technology, PL

John Briggs European Molecular Biology Laboratory, DE
Simon Bullock MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Dirk Bumann University of Basel, CH
Carlos Caldas Cancer Research UK Cambridge Research Institute, UK
Laurent Duret Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, FR
Sandrine Etienne-Manneville Institut Pasteur, FR
Ehud Gazit Tel Aviv University, IL
Vassilis G. Gorgoulis University of Athens & Academy of Athens, GR
Joost Gribnau Erasmus University Medical Center, NL
John Hardy UCL Institute of Neurology, UK
Thomas Helleday Karolinska Institutet, SE
Emilio Hirsch Università di Torino, IT
Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke Queen Mary University of London, UK
Philipp Holliger MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Casper Hoogenraad Utrecht University, NL
Veit Hornung University Hospital, University of Bonn, DE
Johanna Ivaska University of Turku, FI
Sophien Kamoun John Innes Centre, UK
Susan M. Lea University of Oxford, UK
Alison Lloyd University College London, UK
Jan Lohmann University of Heidelberg, DE
Javier Martinez Austrian Academy of Sciences, AT
Jean-Claude Martinou University of Geneva, CH
Rebecca Matsas Hellenic Pasteur Institute, GR
Pura Muñoz-Cánoves Pompeu Fabra University, ICREA & CIBERNED, ES
Georg Nagel

Julius-von-Sachs-Institut für Biowissenschaften, DE

Magnus Nordborg

Gregor Mendel Institute of Molecular Plant Biology, AT

Duncan T. Odom

University of Cambridge & Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, UK

Sharon Peacock

University of Cambridge, UK

Lucas Pelkmans

University of Zurich, CH

Luca Pellegrini

University of Cambridge, UK

Graça Raposo-Benedetti

Institut Curie, FR

Eran Segal

Weizmann Institute of Science, IL

Ralf Sommer

Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, DE

Alexander Stark

Vienna Biocenter, AT

Amos Tanay Weizmann Institute, IL
Simon Tavaré

University of Cambridge, UK

Nicolas Thomä

Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, CH

Maria Elena Torres Padilla

Institut Génétique Biologie Moléculaire Cellulaire, FR

Henrique Veiga-Fernandes

Universidade de Lisboa, PT

Danièle Werck-Reichhart

Institut de Biologie Moleculaire des Plantes & University of Strasbourg, FR

Anne E. Willis

MRC Toxicology Unit, UK

Mihaela Zavolan

University of Basel, CH

Chiara Zurzolo

Institut Pasteur, FR



Angelika Amon Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US
Lewis C. Cantley Weill Cornell Medical College, US
Xuetao Cao Zhejiang University School of Medicine & National Key Laboratory of Medical Immunology, CN
Sean B. Carroll University of Wisconsin-Madison & Howard Hughes Medical Institute, US
Edward F. DeLong University of Hawaii & Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US
Takashi Gojobori

National Institute of Genetics, JP & Computational Bioscience Research Center, KAUST, Saudi Arabia

Paul Rainey

Massey University, NZ

Feng Shao

National Institute of Biological Sciences, CN


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839