1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

EMBO announces new members for 2013


Heidelberg, 21 May 2013 – EMBO announced today that 52 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were newly elected to its membership. Forty-three of the researchers reside in Europe and neighboring countries and are accompanied by the election of nine Associate Members from Canada, China, India, Japan and the United States. The EMBO membership currently comprises around 1600 life scientists.


"Our members are the basis for the international reputation of our organisation," EMBO Director Maria Leptin said. "We have been building our network of members for almost 50 years and the EMBO membership is the foundation for our future growth and achievements. I look forward to the fresh input and ideas that the new EMBO members will bring to the organisation."


The most recent scientists to join the EMBO membership come from 15 different countries and include 16 female scientists.


EMBO Members make invaluable contributions to the organization by providing suggestions and feedback on the activities of EMBO. They serve on selection committees for EMBO programmes and mentor young scientists. Their input has helped to promote excellence in life sciences since 1964.


Newly elected members and associate members are:



Asifa Akhtar Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Freiburg, DE
Luis Aragón MRC Clinical Sciences Centre, London, UK
Herwig Baier Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Munich, DE
Buzz Baum MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, London, UK
Anne Bertolotti MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
Michael Boutros German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) & University of Heidelberg, DE
Frank Bradke German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE), Bonn, DE
Elena Cattaneo University of Milan, IT
Christoph Dehio Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH
Luciano Di Croce Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), Barcelona, ES;
Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies (ICREA), Barcelona, ES
Marileen Dogterom FOM Institute AMOLF, Amsterdam, NL
Gérard Eberl Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR
Anne Eichmann Center for Interdisciplinary Research in Biology, Collège de France, Paris, FR;
Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, US
Isabel Fariñas University of Valencia, ES
Deborah Fass Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL
Eileen Furlong European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg, DE
Roger Goody Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, DE
Piet Gros Utrecht University, NL
Ramanujan Hegde MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
Anne Houdusse UMR 144, CNRS, Institut Curie, Paris, FR
Andrew Jackson MRC Human Genetics Unit, Edinburgh, UK
Roland Lill Institute of Cytobiology, University of Marburg, DE
Kaspar Locher Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, CH
Nicholas Luscombe Cancer Research UK London Research Institute, London, UK;
University College London, UK
Paloma Más Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics (CRAG), Barcelona, ES
Matthias Merkenschlager MRC Clinical Sciences Centre, London, UK
Daniel Metzger Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology, Illkirch, FR
Gioacchino Natoli IEO - European Institute of Oncology, Milan, IT
Ketan Patel MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK;
University of Cambridge, UK
Fiona Powrie Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Oxford, UK
Rosario Rizzuto University of Padova, IT
Iris Salecker MRC National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR), London, UK
Peter Scheiffele Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH
Petra Schwille Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, DE
Peter Šebo Institute of Microbiology of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (ASCR), Prague, CZ
Lars Steinmetz European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg, DE
Françoise Stutz University of Geneva, CH
Anu Suomalainen-Wartiovaara Biomedicum, University of Helsinki, FI
Shahragim Tajbakhsh Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR
Nicholas Talbot University of Exeter, UK
Kostas Tokatlidis Institute of Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology, Glasgow, UK;
IMBB-FORTH, Heraklion, GR
John van der Oost Wageningen University, NL
Wolfgang Zachariae Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, DE




Bonnie L. Bassler Howard Hughes Medical Institute & Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, US
Eugene V. Koonin National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Bethesda, US
Jiayang Li Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, CN;
Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Beijing, CN
Satyajit Mayor National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, IN
Ruslan M. Medzhitov Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, US;
Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Chevy Chase, US
Andre Nussenzweig Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, US
Yoshinori Ohsumi Frontier Research Center, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Yokohama, JP
Yigong Shi School of Life Sciences, Tsinghua University, Beijing, CN
Nahum Sonenberg McGill University, Montreal, CA


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839