1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

22 young group leaders recognized as EMBO Young Investigators


HEIDELBERG, 14 NOVEMBER 2012 – EMBO announced today the selection of 22 young researchers as EMBO Young Investigators.

Best Seller


"EMBO Young Investigators gain financial, academic and practical support to advance their careers," says Gerlind Wallon, EMBO Deputy Director and Manager of the Young Investigator Programme. "The status of Young Investigator offers a level of recognition that brings immediate benefits to scientists at an early stage of their careers." The programme targets researchers under forty years of age who have established their first laboratories in the past four years.


In 2012, EMBO received 160 applications for the Young Investigator Programme. The successful candidates come from twelve countries and include the first scientist from Singapore to join the network. Scientists from Singapore can apply to EMBO programmes due to a cooperation agreement between both parties that started in 2011.


The selected young scientists join a network of nearly 300 current and former young investigators that encourages collaboration. The larger network also brings new opportunities for special meetings, which are organized by the young investigator community, such as those in systems biology and genomic instability that took place in Spain and France earlier this year. "The benefits of networking are becoming more apparent each year," states Wallon.


Eight women were selected as young investigators in 2012 and, as last year, the success rate of female researchers was slightly higher than that of male applicants.


The 22 successful candidates receive 15,000 euros per year for three years directly from the member state where their laboratories are located. The distinction of being an EMBO Young Investigator helps to raise the visibility of young researchers in the life science community. They also receive funding to attend conferences for themselves and their group members, practical training in laboratory management and access to core facilities at EMBL, among other benefits.


The next application deadline is 1 April 2013. More information can be found at www.embo.org/funding-awards/young-investigators.

EMBO Young Investigator Research Interest Institute Location
Claus Maria Azzalin Non-coding nuclear RNAs ETH Zürich Zurich, CH
Renata Basto Centrosomes in development and disease Institut Curie Paris, FR
Andrew Carter Structure and mechanism of dynein MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Cambridge, UK
Sonia Garel Forebrain morphogenesis and wiring École Normale Supérieure Paris, FR
George Garinis DNA repair in development and disease Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Heraklion, GR
Ilona Grunwald-Kadow Neural basis for olfaction in insects Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology Martinsried, DE
Jacob Hanna Epigenetic reprogramming Weizmann Institute Rehovot, IL
Eva Hoffmann Chromosome segregation mechanisms in meiosis University of Sussex Brighton, UK
Jacqueline Jacobs Chromosome end protection by telomeres Netherlands Cancer Institute Amsterdam, NL
Gregory Jefferis Olfactory perception in the fruit fly MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Cambridge, UK
David Keays Molecular and cellular basis of magnetoreception The Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) Vienna, AT
Massimo Lopes DNA replication stress University of Zurich Zurich, CH
Guillermina López-Bendito Cellular & molecular mechanisms of brain wiring Institute of Neuroscience, CSIC San Juan de Alicante, ES
Ron Milo Synthetic metabolic pathways for carbon fixation Weizmann Institute REHOVOT, IL
Bruno Reversade Genetics of identical twinning Institute of Medical Biology (IMB), A*STAR Singapore, SG
Thomas Richards Evolution of endosymbiosis Natural History Museum London, UK
Rickard Sandberg Single-cell trascriptomics Karolinska Institutet Stockholm, SE
Melina Schuh Meiosis in mammalian oocytes MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Cambridge, UK
Evanthia Soutoglou Nuclear architecture in DNA repair Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC) Illkirch Cedex, FR
Alexander Stark Decoding regulatory sequences The Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) Vienna, AT
Itai Yanai Evolution of developmental gene pathways Technion-Israel Institute of Technology Haifa, IL
Raz Zarivach Structure-function of magnetosome associated proteins Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Beer Sheva, IL


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839