1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

46 outstanding life scientists elected to EMBO membership


Heidelberg, Germany, 20 October 2011 – EMBO today acknowledges the outstanding scientific contribution of 46 life scientists from 14 countries by awarding them life-long EMBO membership.


Election to EMBO membership is recognition of the commitment to research excellence and the exceptional achievements made by a life scientist. The new EMBO Members join the ranks of 1,500 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world. They are leaders in their research fields and communities.


This year EMBO acknowledges 43 European scientists as EMBO Members and three scientists from the USA as Associate Members. The new members include 11 female scientists and the first EMBO Member from Estonia.


"We are happy to welcome the new EMBO Members into the EMBO community and look forward to the infusion of knowledge that they bring," said EMBO Director Maria Leptin.


EMBO Members apply their expertise and insight to select the many talented scientists that EMBO supports each year to do the best science. As a result, EMBO Members collectively influence the future directions of life science and strengthen research communities across Europe.


By encouraging cross-border interactions, EMBO Members ensure that Europe is a unified community of excellence where top-level life science thrives.


The 46 scientists recognized by EMBO represent a vivid crosssection of the life sciences from molecular biology and plant sciences, to neuroscience, computational neurobiology and cellular immunology.


A list of the newly elected EMBO Members and Associate Members accompanies this announcement.



Name Institute Country
Gregers Rom Andersen University of Aarhus Aarhus, DK
Claudia Bagni
University of Rome "Tor Vergata", Catholic University of Leuven & VIB11
Rome, IT | Leuven, BE
Yohanns Bellaïche Institute Curie Paris, FR
David Bensimon CNRS, ENS, UCLA Paris, FR
Nica Borgese CNR Institute of Neuroscience
University of Catanzaro "Magna Greacia"
Milano, IT | Catanzaro, IT
Alexander Borst Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology Martinsried, DE
Catherine Dargemont Université Paris Diderot Paris, FR
Bernard De Massy Institut de Génétique Humaine Montpellier, FR
Michelle Debatisse Institute Curie Paris, FR
Olivier Delattre Institute Curie Paris, FR
Volker Dötsch Goethe University Frankfurt, DE
Gian Paolo Dotto University of Lausanne Epalinges, CH
Gordon Dougan Sanger Institute, Wellcome Trust Cambridge, UK
Bruce Edgar University of Heidelberg Heidelberg, DE
Santiago F. Elena Institute for Plant Molecular and Cell Biology (IBMCP) Valencia, ES
Maurizio Gatti Università di Roma 'La Sapienza' Rome, IT
Hermann E. Gaub LMU Munich Munich, DE
Christian Griesinger Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry Göttingen, DE
Ian D. Hickson University of Copenhagen Copenhagen, DK
David W. Holden Imperial College London London, UK
Patrick Lemaire CRBM Montpellier, FR
Xin Lu LICR, University of Oxford Oxford, UK
Mark Marsh University College London London, UK
Cathie R. Martin John Innes Centre Norwich, UK
Andrew Millar University of Edinburgh Edinburgh, UK
Edvard Moser Norwegian University for Science and Technology Trondheim, NO
Jürg Müller Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry Martinsried, DE
Karla Neugebauer Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Dresden, DE
David Owen Cambridge Institute for Medical Research Wellcome Trust Cambridge, UK
Peep Palumaa Tallinn University of Technology Tallinn, EE
Yitzhak Pilpel Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovot, IL
Jordan Raff University of Oxford Oxford, UK
Ivan Raška Charles University in Prague Praque, CZ
Maria Rescigno European Institute of Oncology Milan, IT
David Ron University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK
Botond Roska Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research Basel CH
David C. Rubinsztein University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK
Federica Sallusto Institute for Research in Biomedicine Bellinzona, CH
Dietmar Schmucker Catholic University of Leuven, VIB Leuven, BE
Dominique Soldati-Favre University of Geneva Geneva, CH
Jussi Taipale Karolinska Institutet Stockholm, SE
Andreas Trumpp German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg, DE
Jörg Vogel University of Würzburg Würzburg, DE



Name Institute Country
Cori Bargmann HHMI, Rockefeller University New York, US
Susan Lindquist Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Cambridge, US
Norbert Perrimon Harvard Medical School Boston, US


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tilmann KießlingTilmann Kießling
Head, Communications
T. + 49 160 9019 3839