1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Eighteen young scientists join EMBO Young Investigator network


Heidelberg, 22 October 2007 - The European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) announced today the selection of 18 of Europe’s most talented young researchers as the 2007 beneficiaries of its prestigious Young Investigator Programme.

Each year since 2000, the programme identifies and supports outstanding young life scientists in Europe. Recipients receive academic, practical and financial support from EMBO in the early years of their independent careers.

Selected by EMBO Members for the high standard of their research, these 1 18 new young investigators join a vibrant network of almost 200 scientists. The three-year programme - already with a worldwide reputation for excellence - offers a range of benefits designed to smooth the transition for young researchers setting up their first independent laboratories and developing reputations in the scientific community.

Programme participants enjoy benefits not normally available to early career scientists. Lab management and non-scientific skills training as well as PhD courses offer the young group leaders and their students the chance to develop professional skills. Networking events introduce them to recognised leaders in science like EMBO Members and other experts in their respective fields. Raising the profile of the young investigators and helping them to attract new collaborations and funding are two main aims of the programme.
“Europe’s young independent scientists are often not yet sufficiently established and have to fight hard for recognition and funding,” explains Gerlind Wallon, manager of the EMBO Young Investigator Programme. “Along with the financial support, EMBO focuses on helping these young investigators develop the network and skills they need to become successful group leaders.”

By supporting Europe's scientific leaders of tomorrow, the EMBO Young Investigator Programme helps to endorse and promote these young scientists as active and recognised
contributors to European research.

2007 EMBO Young Investigators
Philippe Bousso, FR
Fabrizio d'Adda di Fagagna, IT
Sandrine Etienne-Manneville, FR
Holger Gerhardt, UK
Tibor Harkany, SE
Thorsten Hoppe, DE
Thomas Hummel, DE
Carsten Janke, FR
Rene Ketting, NL
Javier Martinez, AT
Paloma Más, ES
Marco Milán, ES
Arp Schnittger, DE
Eran Segal, IL
Joan Seoane, ES
Nicolas Tapon, UK
Michele Vendruscolo, UK
Pascale Zimmermann, BE