1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Eight scientists awarded EMBO Installation Grants


HEIDELBERG, 10 December 2014 – EMBO announces the selection of eight scientists as recipients of the 2014 Installation Grants. The grants will help the scientists to relocate and set up laboratories in the Czech Republic, Poland, Portugal and Turkey.


“Our grants directly support young scientists going to participating member states to establish their own research groups. The awards help talented researchers to contribute to the strengthening of science in these countries and to build a successful research programme that can help to promote further collaborations,” said Gerlind Wallon, Installation Grants Programme Manager and EMBO Deputy Director.


Of the grantees three will move to Turkey, two to the Czech Republic, two to Portugal and one to Poland. They will relocate to these countries from institutes and universities in Canada, Germany and the United States.  


EMBO Installation Grants are awarded annually to strengthen science in selected Member States. The scheme is supported by these countries and a committee of EMBO Members selects the awardees.


The scientists receive 50,000 Euros annually for three to five years from their host countries. The eight grantees will also enter the network of EMBO Young Investigators, which helps them to integrate into the European scientific community.


71 group leaders have received support through EMBO Installation Grants since the start of the programme in 2006.


The next application deadline for EMBO Installation Grants is 15 April 2015.



Research interest Going to Coming from
Nuno Barbosa-Morais Cancer transcriptomes and metastasis Institute of Molecular Medicine, Lisbon, PT University of Toronto, CA
Tolga Çukur Investigation of the visual system Bilkent University, Ankara, TR University of California, Berkeley, US
Ana Domingos Neurobiological control of obesity Gulbenkian Institute of Science, Oeiras, PT The Rockefeller University, New York, US
Peter Lukavsky Molecular basis of aberrant splicing CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ Stanford University, US
Günes Özhan Wnt/β-catenin signalling  Izmir Biomedicine and Genome Center, Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, TR Technical University Dresden, DE
Pavel Plevka Structural studies of Picornaviruses CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ Purdue University, US
Piotr Setny Hydration effects in proteins Centre for New Technologies, University of Warsaw, PL Technical University Munich, DE
Gerhard Wingender Invariant natural killer T cells in allergy School of Medicine of Bahçeşehir University, Istanbul, TR La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology, US


Twenty-seven researchers named as EMBO Young Investigators


HEIDELBERG, 12 November 2014 – EMBO announced today the selection of 27 young researchers as EMBO Young Investigators. The scientists join a network of 342 current and past Young Investigators who represent some of the best young group leaders contributing to research in Europe and beyond.


2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine


Professor John O’Keefe, Director of the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre in Neural Circuits and Behaviour at University College London, Edvard Moser, Director of the Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience and Centre for Neural Computation at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, and May-Britt Moser, Director of the Centre for Neural Computation at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology have been awarded the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.


John O’Keefe became an EMBO Member this year. Edvard and Britt Moser joined the EMBO membership in 2011 and 2012, respectively. The award was made in recognition of their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain.


From their work, John O´Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser have elucidated how the brain of larger organisms creates a map of the space surrounding themselves and how these organisms can navigate their way through a complex environment. This problem has vexed philosophers and scientists for centuries.



Counting down to FEBS-EMBO 2014 in Paris, France


PARIS, 29 JULY 2014 – With thirty days to go and almost 2500 registered participants, the final preparations for the FEBS-EMBO 2014 Conference are well underway. Theevent, a joint venture between the Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS), EMBO, and the French Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (SFBBM),will take place from Saturday, 30 August to Thursday, 4 September at the Palais des Congrès in Paris, France.


EMBO and EMBL to host anniversary science and policy meeting


HEIDELBERG, 01 July 2014 – Scientists, politicians and policy makers met at the EMBL Advanced Training Centre in Heidelberg, Germany, on Wednesday 2 July and Thursday 3 July for the EMBO-EMBL Anniversary Science and Policy Meeting. The event featured scientific talks from researchers, the participation of European science ministers and secretaries of state, and sessions on policy issues such as excellence and inclusion.


EMBO enlarges its membership for 50th anniversary


Heidelberg, 07 May 2014 – EMBO announced today that 106 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were newly elected to its membership. One hundred of the scientists reside in Europe and neighbouring countries; six Associate Members were elected from China, Japan and the United States. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1600 life scientists.


EMBO Gold Medal 2014 awarded to Sophie Martin


In recognition of her research to understand the organization and development of the cell


Heidelberg, 23 April 2013 – EMBO today announced Sophie Martin of the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, as the winner of the 2014 EMBO Gold Medal. The award acknowledges her work to understand the molecular events that define the organization and development of the cell.


2014 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award honours Pascale Cossart


Heidelberg, 18 February 2014 – EMBO and the Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS) announce Pascale Cossart, a world renowned bacteriologist and Professor at the Institut Pasteur in Paris, France, as the winner of the 2014 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award. 


news gallery



This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Barry Whyte Barry Whyte
Head, Public Relations &
T. + 49 6221 8891 108

 Yvonne KaulYvonne Kaul
Press Officer
T. + 49 6221 8891 111